Chocolate Biscuit Cake Recipe

I’ve noticed that a lot of the views of my blog come from people searching for chocolate biscuit cake recipes and ideas. I’m going to share the recipe that is tried and trusted by my mother and I. It has been served at many an occasion!

This cake is quite easy to make but is always a winner. Good quality chocolate is the key. I use Callebaut Belgian chocolate. You can make as a loaf, or a round or square cake tin. This recipe will do a small loaf. For a 6 inch round cake, double the recipe, and for an 8 inch round cake, triple the recipe, and for a 10 inch round, use 4 times the recipe.

Best Chocolate Biscuit Cake

Ingredients

  • 250g biscuits, all digestive or a mixture of a few types
  • 150g milk chocolate
  • 150g dark chocolate
  • 100g butter
  • 150g golden syrup
  • 75g marshmallows/raisins/malteasers or whatever

Method

  1. Break half the biscuits into small pieces. Make the other half into fine crumbs using a blender or put them in a sandwich bag and bash with a rolling pin.
  2. Melt the chocolate, butter and golden syrup together.
  3. Mix the melted mixture with all the bicsuits and your chosen extra ingredient. Pour into a loaf tin and top with an extra 150g melted chocolate (optional).

For a special occasion, you can decorate the cake with Cadbury’s Chocolate Fingers and Malteasers. Attach the fingers and malteasers with chocolate ganache or buttercream. For an 8 inch cake you will need 3 packets of Chocolate Fingers (1 of each milk, dark and white) and one large bag of malteasers.

If you have a lot of mouths to feed and you really want the ‘Wow’ factor, you can do a double tiered cake.

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

59 thoughts on “Chocolate Biscuit Cake Recipe

  1. Lisa | Mama.ie April 10, 2012 at 7:29 am Reply

    That looks amazing!

  2. cakemaker July 23, 2012 at 12:11 pm Reply

    My friend made this cake and it was amazing….must be easy recipe as shes only 14 years old and did it without extra help!!!

    • mrsdeeotoole July 23, 2012 at 1:20 pm Reply

      Glad it worked ou for you; it really is foolproof and yummy!

  3. Smartie Kids « Tremendous Fun September 1, 2012 at 9:36 pm Reply

    […] made this cake for a kids birthday party recently using my favourite Chocolate Biscuit Cake recipe.  I usually top this with malteasers, but I wanted to add some colour so I used Smarties […]

  4. Tata September 19, 2012 at 2:27 pm Reply

    Thanx for the recipe, I made it last night!
    Could you give me the recipe for the chocolate ganache you used to stick on the chocolate fingers please?? Will they stay on? Do I need to refrigerate it again once I put them on? Sorry for all the questions, I am a total newbie with this!!

    • mrsdeeotoole May 13, 2013 at 1:09 pm Reply

      Ganache is made using double. quantity of cream to chocolate. (200g choc, 100ml cream) Heat the cream and then pour it over the chocolate. Leave for a few minutes and then mix well. You need to leave it for a few hours to cool and thicken before using it to stick the fingers on. They’ll definitely stick then!

  5. ella October 7, 2012 at 10:01 am Reply

    omg so so cool me and my freinds do mini come dine with me so going to use it and put sparklers in it for the end of the week =0

  6. […] recipe came from Dee at Tremendous Fun, a wonderful crafty blog run by one of the aforementioned mammy-gang.  I tripled the quantities […]

  7. Niamh Fleming May 13, 2013 at 11:15 am Reply

    I’ve just made this cake .. I’m waiting for it to cool before I put it in the fridge. It seems very wet .. is it definitley 150g of Golden syrup? Iused 450g as I’ve tripled the quantities. I was expecting it to be a lot thicker going into the baking tin so I could press any air pockets out of it.

    • mrsdeeotoole May 13, 2013 at 1:07 pm Reply

      Yes the quantities are right!
      I usually bang the tin on the kitchen counter to get rid of the air pockets. There shouldn’t be a problem with them anyway. Give it a few hours in the fridge and then leave it at room temperate for a little while before cutting it up. Enjoy!

  8. Niamh Fleming May 13, 2013 at 1:35 pm Reply

    Thank you for the reply. I was just concerned about the Golden Syrup, I’ve seen other recipes for 150ml … perhaps they work out the same quantity. I’ve left it cool on the counter and now it’s in the fridge. Looking forward to having a slice at the weekend 🙂 It’s my first CBC, so a bit anxious!!

    • mrsdeeotoole May 13, 2013 at 1:36 pm Reply

      You can’t beat a bit of CBC! Have the kettle boiled 🙂

    • mrsdeeotoole May 13, 2013 at 1:40 pm Reply

      150g of golden syrup is approx 100ml.

  9. Niamh Fleming May 13, 2013 at 1:59 pm Reply

    I’m dying to see how it works out but it’s for a birthday cake for a friends 3 year old on Saturday .. will have to wait til they cut it to find out. Hope my hubby doesn’t give into temptation when he looks into the fridge during the week!! 🙂

  10. Karen May 26, 2013 at 6:49 am Reply

    How many portions would you say are in this? I made exactly one recipe in a bowl – it’s about 7″ round and 2.5″ high… we haven’t eaten it yet, just wondering how many I can feed with it!!

    Had to make it with honey ‘cos can’t get golden syrup here. The bowl licking proved tasty!

    • mrsdeeotoole June 1, 2013 at 3:08 pm Reply

      You’ll get around 20 portions out if this recipe, depending on the hunger levels! 😀
      Honey will give a slightly different taste, but it’s a good substitute for the syrup.

  11. Caroline January 12, 2014 at 9:41 pm Reply

    Hi there – cake looks fab! I’ve made chocolate biscuit cake many times but I love the decorating idea on this one. Just wondering for the tiered cake did you just place 1 cake on top of the other or did you use a 2nd cake drum or doweling? I haven’t tried a tiered cake yet (but plan to!) and am just wondering how it works with chocolate biscuit cake. Thanks!

    • mrsdeeotoole January 12, 2014 at 9:43 pm Reply

      I didn’t dowel as chocolate biscuit cake is very firm and placing another cake on top of it won’t damage it. I would still use a cake card in between. 🙂

  12. Ruth April 27, 2014 at 5:18 pm Reply

    How far ahead can I make this cake? Wondering can I make the actual cake then the day before put on the ganache then the morning of attach the fingers. I’m guessing wrapping tight and in the fridge all the time helps this cake? Thanks for your time. I’m hoping to serve this Saturday so I’ve 6 days to go

    • mrsdeeotoole April 28, 2014 at 6:47 am Reply

      Yes you can make it now! It keeps really well. You can keep it in the fridge or just somewhere cool.

  13. June O'Dwyer May 7, 2014 at 8:11 am Reply

    How long can it keep in fridge roughly ? And can it be put into freezer? This a great cake as my daughter has requested it for her communion ,which is this Saturday ahhhhh ! and loved it for her birthday last year.

    • mrsdeeotoole May 7, 2014 at 10:59 am Reply

      The butter, golden syrup and chocolate don’t really go off, the only thing that may happen is that the biscuits can go soft, especially when the cake has been cut.
      But it will keep well for a few weeks! It’s suitable for freezing too. 🙂

  14. Sari May 13, 2014 at 10:04 am Reply

    What kind biscuit you used?
    What is the golden syrup (I am live in US) ?
    Thank you

    • mrsdeeotoole September 9, 2014 at 7:05 am Reply

      I use a mixture of Digestives, Rich Tea, and sometimes Gingernut. I’m not sure what the equivalent is in the USA? Maybe Graham Crackers?
      Golden Syrup is a thick sugar syrup, I think light corn syrup would be the best substitute.
      Hope this helps!

  15. kittycat September 8, 2014 at 11:18 pm Reply

    what would the recipe for a 12 inch cake be?

    • mrsdeeotoole September 9, 2014 at 7:06 am Reply

      8 times the recipe!
      eg 1.2kg milk chocolate
      1.2kg dark chocolate
      800g butter
      1.2kg golden syrup
      2kg biscuits
      600g malteasers

      It would feed over 100 people and weigh a ton!

      • Garret January 9, 2016 at 10:49 pm

        I am making it for my sisters wedding, I plan on using a 12″ square tin. Do i need to increase the quantities or will i be ok??

      • mrsdeeotoole January 9, 2016 at 11:09 pm

        I would estimate that would would need 12/13 times the recipe. It will be an enormous cake, and very heavy!

  16. M&Ms Gravity Cake | Tremendous Fun September 16, 2014 at 10:44 pm Reply

    […] is a Chocolate Biscuit Cake, covered in fondant/sugarpaste/ready to roll icing. 4 large bags of M&Ms are stuck on […]

  17. Carol October 23, 2014 at 11:29 am Reply

    Do you melt chocolate,butter and syrup in a bowl over hot water or just straight into a pot

    • mrsdeeotoole December 14, 2014 at 2:48 pm Reply

      Over hot water! Or in the microwave.

    • mrsdeeotoole October 25, 2015 at 10:52 pm Reply

      Over hot water or else the chocolate might seize. You can do it in the microwave either.

  18. sarah neuman December 14, 2014 at 1:07 pm Reply

    Hey i really want to make this but for a 12 inch tin how would i go about doing this?

    • mrsdeeotoole December 14, 2014 at 2:48 pm Reply

      You would need 6/7 times the recipe! It would feed around 100 people.

  19. Kat January 30, 2015 at 10:52 pm Reply

    I’m making a CBC for my daughters wedding and the tin is 11.25 inchs – as it will form the base layer of the cake, there will be 80 guests! Do I need to 6/7 times also? Thanks,

    • mrsdeeotoole January 9, 2016 at 11:10 pm Reply

      Sorry, I did not see this comment before now! I assume the wedding has passed by now. 😞 Hope it worked out ok.

  20. Aoife Casey July 20, 2015 at 9:46 pm Reply

    If you were to put malteasers on top of the cake, can you use buttercream to hold it down or how would you do it? and what is also great to hold it down with fingers chocolate.

    • mrsdeeotoole July 21, 2015 at 7:58 am Reply

      Hi Aoife,
      Yes I would use something to stick down the malteasers. You could buttercream, ganache, or a tub of Betty Crocker Icing. I hope it works well for you!
      Dee

  21. Aoife CaseY July 23, 2015 at 12:04 pm Reply

    Thank you very much for the information. I have one last question. When i am making the cake, Do i need to leave it to cool in the fridge or room temputures?s

    • mrsdeeotoole July 23, 2015 at 2:54 pm Reply

      The fridge. Enjoy!

    • mrsdeeotoole October 25, 2015 at 10:51 pm Reply

      In the fridge! When it’s set, leave it out at room temperature for a while before taking it out of the tin.

  22. Sweetie Cake | Tremendous Fun August 25, 2015 at 9:21 pm Reply

    […] slight variation on the Chocolate Finger & Malteaser cake, or the Kitkat and Smarties cake, here is a ‘sweetie’ cake I made for my son’s […]

  23. Jodie bettles October 25, 2015 at 10:48 pm Reply

    Hi. I’m making your cake for my sister in law for her 30th. There will be about 30people going. What size cake tin would you use. Also what size are the two tiered ones in your picture. Thank you 😊

    • mrsdeeotoole October 25, 2015 at 10:49 pm Reply

      I think the one in the photo is 8inch and 6inch. For 30 people I would do an 8inch cake. Good luck!

  24. […] recipe came from Dee at Tremendous Fun, a wonderful crafty blog run by one of the aforementioned mammy-gang.  I tripled the quantities […]

  25. Sandra December 2, 2015 at 7:13 pm Reply

    Can anyone tell me where, in the republic of ireland, you can buy the dark and white chocolate fingers

    • mrsdeeotoole December 2, 2015 at 10:17 pm Reply

      I’ve gotten them in Lidl in the past! They do a Christmas variety pack with 3 different types. Try Dealz aswell. 🙂

    • Jodie bettles December 2, 2015 at 10:30 pm Reply

      I got mine in Tesco. Dunnes do them also.

  26. Bridget February 16, 2016 at 3:47 pm Reply

    How much ingredients would I need for a 2 litre Pyrex bowl. I am using this cake as the body for peppa pig

    • mrsdeeotoole February 16, 2016 at 8:39 pm Reply

      Approximately 2.5/3 times the recipe. Good luck!

  27. Busy granny November 8, 2016 at 9:12 pm Reply

    Hello. I have made a 10″ chocolate biscuit cake for a special occasion. It is quite heavy and very solid. I have to ice it next. How long would I need to leave it out of the fridge before cutting it? Don’t think one or two hours would be enough………

    • mrsdeeotoole November 8, 2016 at 10:12 pm Reply

      If you are icing it, keep it out of the fridge. It doesn’t need to be refrigerated after it has set. It keeps very well!

  28. Busy granny November 8, 2016 at 10:32 pm Reply

    Thank you for that, but if I do leave it in the fridge overnight and take it out mid-morning to ice it, Can I assume that it will come to room temperature in a few hours and be ready to cut by 6 or 7 pm in the evening?

    • mrsdeeotoole November 8, 2016 at 11:31 pm Reply

      Yes that would be fine! Use a good knife!

      • Busy granny November 9, 2016 at 10:07 am

        Thank you so much for your help and suggestions. It’s good to know it can be left out of fridge without coming to any harm. And thank you for the tip about the sharp knife 😊.

      • Busy Granny November 14, 2016 at 10:08 pm

        Hello again. Just a belated thanks for your tips re the chocolate biscuit cake. Yes, I did take it out of the fridge after making it and leaving it overnight. I took it out the next morning so that it had plenty of time to come to room temperature fir the evening. It cut beautifully and tasted delicious! So thank you for your advice!

  29. Pamela November 12, 2016 at 11:24 am Reply

    I’ve made your recipe a few times it’s delicious thank you. Just wondering I need one for Christmas would it still be fresh if I made it the end of Nov, start of Dec so 5-6 weeks? If not how far in advance will it be ok?
    Many Thanks

    • mrsdeeotoole November 12, 2016 at 11:41 am Reply

      Hi Pamela! As a guide I would say 2 weeks. But in reality it does last much longer. It doesn’t go off, but the biscuits do start to go soft. If you want to make it early, I would avoid using digestive biscuits and stick with rich tea as they last longer. Good luck!

      • Pamela November 14, 2016 at 2:17 pm

        Thank you

Leave a Reply

